hasemsilk.blogg.se

How to add cloud in eve ng
How to add cloud in eve ng








how to add cloud in eve ng
  1. #How to add cloud in eve ng how to#
  2. #How to add cloud in eve ng iso#
  3. #How to add cloud in eve ng professional#
  4. #How to add cloud in eve ng series#
  5. #How to add cloud in eve ng free#

Once everything looks good and the OPNsense GUI is reachable, we can focus on getting the GCP side of things squared away, coming back to OPNsense in step 4. I also fired up the NST32 and Windows Server VMs on my desktop, placed their NICs into the Virtualbox internal networking mode, and made sure I can get onto the internet via OPNsense. Installing OPNsense is a breeze, all I’m doing for now is changing the IP addresses to match the diagram.

how to add cloud in eve ng

My WAN interface is a bridged network adapter going towards my cheapo home Asus router/WAP combo, and the LAN interface is simply going to the internal networking mode in Virtualbox. If you’ve never used virtualbox or installed OPNsense before, that’s ok! Check out the step-by-step guide to doing this over at KifarUnix if you get stuck. I’ll be doing 2gb RAM, 40gb HD and two network cards (em0 for LAN, em1 for WAN).

#How to add cloud in eve ng iso#

Download the latest OPNsense DVD release (21.1 as of this writing) too, you might need 7zip to extract the ISO image if your machine is running Windows.įire up Virtualbox, make a new VM, size it according to their guidelines. If you don’t already have Virtualbox installed, make sure you have that on your home machine, mine is using version 6.1.18. Go ahead and skip down to step 2 if you’re already running OPNsense in your homelab. I’ll now step down from my “support the open source community” soapbox so we can start getting our hands dirty with OPNsense 🙂 Step 1: Initial OPNsense setup in VirtualBox at home Remember that without financial support, all these awesome open-source tools will fade away.

#How to add cloud in eve ng professional#

That being said, if you’re employed as a network or security professional, I strongly recommend buying eve-ng professional and donating to the OPNsense project.

#How to add cloud in eve ng free#

The only things you need to supply for building this lab are a credit card to activate the Google Cloud free trial, and something in your homelab capable of running OPNsense! I specifically want today’s lab to be as low-cost as possible for all the network engineering students out there.

  • Some other reason I’m not thinking about (please let me know if you have one in the comments!)Įverything will be done with the free community edition of eve-ng.
  • how to add cloud in eve ng

  • You have OPNsense/pfSense running at your home and have lots of devices that need to use the tunnel up to GCP.
  • You want to deep dive into how site-to-site VPN tunnels are setup between a homelab/branch location and GCP.
  • You want to gain experience setting up GCP VPN Gateway.
  • You have other instances in GCP that you’d like a site-to-site tunnel into without running your beefy eve-ng instance.
  • #How to add cloud in eve ng how to#

  • You want to fully automate the setup and teardown of the VPN tunnel using Google’s APIs ( this homelab post covers how to accomplish that in detail).
  • #How to add cloud in eve ng series#

    If you answer no to all of the following, go ahead and do Tony E’s eve-ng + ZeroTier YouTube series instead, you’ll be up and running way faster: If you find yourself answering yes to any of the following questions, you might be better off following this guide.

    how to add cloud in eve ng

    There’s a really good YouTube walkthrough from NetworkCollective covering exactly that, and I would recommend most people follow Tony E’s GCP eve-ng with ZeroTier instructions in that video instead of all my craziness below in this post. Instead of re-doing that old blog post, I thought it would be more fun to re-build my whole lab using 100% free network device VMs, no need to buy a Cisco ASA or ASAv to tunnel into your homelab this time! My final topology ends up looking like this, you can skip the Microsoft & Cisco ISE stuff if you’d like:ĭoing the OPNsense VPN directly into Google Cloud’s VPN Gateway is a bit difficult, it’s actually way easier to use a service like ZeroTier between your Google Cloud eve-ng instance and your homelab. Most tech blog posts about doing things step-by-step in a public cloud don’t age well, things change very quickly. Regardless of which network or security products you’re tinkering with in eve-ng, I hope you try it out on a public cloud sometime, it’s a real eye-opener as to what’s possible with AWS/GCP/Azure these days. Ever since then, I’ve sort of turned into an evangelist about how everyone should burn their $300 Google Cloud New Customer Credit on a cloud eve-ng instance if you haven’t done so already, it’s really fun! Today I’ll be rebuilding my GCP eve-ng setup to be more of a “cyber range” I can use to study for the new Cisco ISE Certification Exam. Last year I wrote a long-winded guide on setting up a Cisco ASA site-to-site VPN tunnel into my eve-ng Google Cloud Platform (GCP) instance for my second bedroom homelab. As always, opinions in this post are solely those of my own, and not necessarily those of any organization I am currently affiliated with or have been in the past.










    How to add cloud in eve ng